Neil Wetherbee, Superintendent Northport Public School 104 S. Wing St. Northport, MI 49670 p. (231) 386-5153 f. (231) 386-9838 www.northportps.org

Organizational Meeting Minutes January 13, 2025 NPS Board of Education

Past Board President, Ben Purdy, called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Members Present: Ben Purdy, Tom Wetherbee, Ryan Blessing, Dan Duffiney, Jake Zimmer, Jamie Scripps, and Danielle Percy (arrived at 5:31)

Members Absent: NONE A quorum is present.

Election of a Temporary Chairperson

Motion: Moved by Tom Wetherbee, supported by Ryan Blessing, to appoint Ben Purdy as temporary chairperson to serve until the Election of the President.

All Ayes

Motion Carried 6-0

Approval of Agenda

Motion: Moved by Tom Wetherbee, supported by Jake Zimmer, to approve the agenda at this January 13, 2025, organizational board meeting.

All Ayes

Motion Carried 6-0

School District Legal Reference Note

Legal Name of School District: Northport Public School

The Northport Public School Board of Education is comprised of seven members who are elected for terms of 6 years in November of even numbered years.

Members holding office as of January 1, 2025, and the expiration of their current terms:

- Daniel K. DuffineyJamie Scripps
- Danielle Percy
- Ben P. Purdy
- Jacob Zimmer
- Ryan Blessing
- Thomas M. Wetherbee
- December 2026
 - December 2026
 - December 2028
 - December 2028
 - December 2028
 - December 2030
 - December 2030



Election of Office PRESIDENT:	ers		
-	y Tom Wetherbee, su	pported by Ryan Blessing, to open nominations for	
President.	All Ayes	Motion Carried 6-0	
Motion : Moved by President.	Tom Wetherbee, sup	oported by Dan Duffiney, to nominate Ben Purdy for	
	All Ayes	Motion Carried 7-0 (with the arrival of Danielle Percy)	
Motion: Moved by	Ryan Blessing, supp All Ayes	orted by Jake Zimmer, to close nominations for President. Motion Carried 7-0	
Motion: Moved by	Jake Zimmer, suppo	rted by Danielle Percy to elect Ben Purdy for President.	
Roll Call Vote: Jamie Scripps Dan Duffiney Danielle Percy Ben Purdy Tom Wetherbee Jake Zimmer Ryan Blessing			
	All Ayes	Motion Carried 7-0	
Ben Purdy is seate	ed as President.		
VICE-PRESIDENT: Motion: Moved by Dan Duffiney, supported by Danielle Percy, to open nominations for Vice- President.			
	All Ayes	Motion Carried 7-0	
Motion : Moved by Vice-President.	Tom Wetherbee, sup	oported by Danielle Percy, to nominate Jamie Scripps for	
	All Ayes	Motion Carried 7-0	
Motion : Moved by Ryan Blessing, supported by Jake Zimmer, to close nominations for Vic President.		orted by Jake Zimmer, to close nominations for Vice-	
	All Ayes	Motion Carried 7-0	
Motion : Moved by President.	Tom Wetherbee, sup	oported by Dan Duffiney, to elect Jamie Scripps for Vice-	
Roll Call Vote: Dan Duffiney			

Danielle Percy Ben Purdy Tom Wetherbee Jake Zimmer Ryan Blessing Jamie Scripps			
	All Ayes	Motion Carried 7-0	
Jamie Scripps is seat	ed as Vice-President.		
SECRETARY:			
	ke Zimmer, supported by Ryan Blessing All Ayes	g, to open nominations for Secretary. Motion Carried 7-0	
Motion : Moved by Ry Secretary.	yan Blessing, supported by Tom Wetherbee, to nominate Danielle Percy for		
occretary.	All Ayes	Motion Carried 7-0	
Motion: Moved by To	om Wetherbee, supported by Jake Zimm All Ayes	ner, to close nominations for Secretary. Motion Carried 7-0	
Motion : Moved by To Secretary.	om Wetherbee, supported by Jake Zimm	er, to elect Danielle Percy for	
Roll Call Vote: Danielle Percy Ben Purdy Tom Wetherbee Jake Zimmer Ryan Blessing Jamie Scripps Dan Duffiney			
	All Ayes	Motion Carried 7-0	
Danielle Percy is sea	ted as Secretary.		
TREASURER: Motion: Moved by Da	anielle Percy, supported by Jake Zimme All Ayes	r, to open nominations for Treasurer. Motion Carried 7-0	
	om Wetherbee, supported by Danielle P	ercy, to nominate Dan Duffiney for	
Treasurer.	All Ayes	Motion Carried 7-0	
Motion: Moved by Ja	ke Zimmer, supported by Danielle Perc	y, to close nominations for Treasurer.	

All Ayes

Motion Carried 7-0

Motion: Moved by Danielle Percy, supported by Jake Zimmer, to elect Daniel Duffiney for Treasurer.

Daniel Duffiney is seated as Treasurer.

Establish Time, Date, and Location of Meetings

Motion: Moved by Jake Zimmer, supported by Danielle Percy, that the Northport Board of Education hereby states that regular meetings will be held at 5:30 p.m. in room 300 at Northport Public School on the 2nd Monday of each month.

All Ayes

Motion Carried 7-0

Adjournment Motion: Moved by Tom Wetherbee, supported by Jake Zimmer, to adjourn the organizational meeting.

All Ayes

Motion Carried 7-0

The meeting adjourned at 5:40 p.m.

Danielle Percy, Secretary

Public Comments

NONE

Elizabeth Schwind, Recording Secretary

Roll Call Vote: Ben Purdy Tom Wetherbee Jake Zimmer **Ryan Blessing** Jamie Scripps Dan Duffiney Danielle Percy

All Ayes

Motion Carried 7-0